- 1 cent - 2007 - Canada
Our City. Our Money. Our Vote.
Play Video


Present with Mayor David Miller at the launch of the One Cent NOW! campaign were the Mayors of Aurora, Brampton, Halifax, Hamilton, Mississauga, Oshawa, Sarnia and Thunder Bay.

Photo of One Cent Now Supporters

From left to right: Mayor Susan Fennell (Brampton), Mayor John Gray (Oshawa), Mayor Hazel McCallion (Mississauga), Mayor David Miller (Toronto), Mayor Fred Eisenberger (Hamilton) and Mayor Phyllis Morris (Aurora)

Since the launch of the One Cent NOW! campaign, several municipalities have expressed their support, including:

On December 7, 2007, the Association of Francophone Municipalities of Ontario (AFMO) voted to support the national campaign for Canadian municipalities to receive the equivalent of one cent of the GST, and the call for a federal national transit strategy.

On November 21, 2007, the Liberal Party created the Urban Caucus to find the best solutions for working with the municipalities and provinces to make Canada's cities the best in the world.

At their meeting in Oshawa, on November 16, 2007, the Large Urban Mayors' Caucus of Ontario (LUMCO) unanimously adopted a resolution (pdf 20KB) supporting the ongoing national advocacy campaign calling on the federal government to share the equivalent value of one cent of the GST with cities and communities across Canada.

At their 2007 convention in Vancouver, on September 27, the Union of British Columbia Municipalities (UBCM) endorsed a resolution (pdf 38KB) calling on the federal government to return one cent of the GST to local governments.

In June 2007, Canada's Senate Committe on National Finance issued a report called "The Vertical and Municipal Fiscal Balances" recommending that the federal government consider giving municipalities access to growth taxes, including the GST.

At their annual conference in Calgary, on June 2, 2007, Federation of Canadian Municipalities' delegates adopted a resolution calling on the federal government to share the equivalent of one cent of the GST with municipal governments so they can invest in the future prosperity of their communities.

On February 9, 2007, the Big City Mayor’s Caucus of the Federation of Canadian Municipalities endorsed, in principle, sharing the equivalent of one cent of the existing GST with cities.

The members of the Big City Mayor’s Caucus are:

  1. Vancouver, Mayor Sam Sullivan
  2. Surrey, Mayor Dianne Watts
  3. Calgary, Mayor David Bronconnier
  4. Edmonton, Mayor Stephen Mandel
  5. Regina, Mayor Pat Fiacco
  6. Saskatoon, Mayor Don Atchison
  7. Winnipeg, Mayor Sam Katz
  8. Brampton, Mayor Susan Fennell
  9. Hamilton, Mayor Fred Eisenberger
  10. Kitchener, Mayor Carl Zehr
  11. London, Mayor Anne Marie DeCicco-Best
  12. Mississauga, Mayor Hazel McCallion
  13. Ottawa, Mayor Larry O’Brien
  14. Windsor, Mayor Eddie Francis
  15. Toronto, Mayor David Miller
  16. Gatineau, Mayor Marc Bureau
  17. Montréal, Mayor Gérald Tremblay
  18. Laval, Mayor Gilles Vaillancourt
  19. Québec, Mayor Andrée P. Boucher
  20. Longueuil, Mayor Claude Gladu
  21. Halifax, Mayor Peter J. Kelly
  22. St. John’s, Mayor Andy Wells

Toronto (c) City of Toronto 2007